DNF is a four letter word…

5 08 2008

OK – prepared for months and months, and just proudly achieved my first DNF at the Burning River 100 this past weekend.  Bummer!  Goes to show you that ANYTHING can happen during a 100.

I’ll post a full report later with all of the gory details (maybe even some nasty foot photos for those of you who like watching trainwrecks!).  The short version is that things just went awry early on in the race.  I started puking at 18 miles…we’re talking full on projectile vomiting after only a few short hours.  This has NEVER happened to me before.  Luckily, I met a very cool new trailbuddy along the way who helped talk me through the pain.  (Thanks Rob!  You rock!)  It took me 7-8 miles of walking, but I was able to get the stomach back under control.

I felt great through the 50 mile mark.  It was when nightfall hit that things started to get weird.  I experienced my first sleep deprived hallucinations around 60 miles when I started seeing random tigers and gigantic bugs in the woods.  I can deal with hallucinations, though.  It was the BLISTERS that took me out of the race.  Think HAMBURGER and you’ll know what my feet look like.

After some serious consideration and a lot of tears, I dropped officially at about 75 miles around 3:15 am.  It’s still 25 miles farther than I’ve ever run before, but I’m still bummed!  Thanks to all of you well wishers and wonderful friends – to my crew and my pacer Jesika.  You guys are the best.  I’ll be back for more punishment soon.

Again, more details to follow.  Just wanted to post something tonight to give everyone an explanation!

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 08 2008
Rob

This one got ya and it was a great learning lesson for you. Blisters suck and you just can not run if you can not walk. New socks, different shoe size etc find the reason and go back after another. Your trained. Great job out there Dr Robinson!

5 08 2008
Luc

Congrats on your 75 mile distance PR. 🙂 Your hallucinations sounds pretty intense!! You’re pretty tough to stick that out. I’m sure that the DNF got you down, but 75 miles is an amazing feat for anybody. I’m anxious to read about your next attempt at 100 miles with even better news. 🙂 Great job!

8 08 2008
les johnson

As I mentioned to you on Sunday, 75 miles is one heck of an accomplishment. Not sure why anyone wants to do this to their body but you have always beat to a different drummer. Proud of you. dad

19 08 2008
Active Toby

Steph, it’s this kind of experience that you’ll learned from and be better prepared next time around. Like Rob mentioned above, if its blisters that took you out, you’ve gotta pin-point what’s going on down there that caused such problems. Work it out in training and shorter competition (50K, 50M) and ramp it back up for another shot. There are a number of great ultra runners out there that didn’t finish their first 100-mile effort. It builds character. How about the Javelina Jundred in November in AZ? They offer a 100K too. Keep in touch

Leave a Reply

